La Trobe

The electorate of La Trobe was first proclaimed in 1949 and named after the first Lieutenant-Governor of Victoria (1851–1854), Charles La Trobe (1801–1875).

The Federal Electorate of La Trobe is home to some of Victoria’s most iconic tourist landmarks in Melbourne’s outer metropolitan area.

Jason Wood MP was elected to represent the electorate of La Trobe in 2013.

Previous member to represent the seat of La Trobe include:

  • Smyth, L (ALP) 2010–2013
  • Wood, J (LP) 2004–2010
  • Charles, B (LP) 1990–2004
  • Milton, P (ALP) 1980–1990
  • Baillieu, M (LP) 1975–1980
  • Lamb, A H (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Jess, J D (LP) 1960–1972
  • Casey, R G (LP) 1949–1960

The La Trobe electorate covers approximately 562 sq. km of the outer eastern and south-eastern suburbs and is home to over 110,000 people.

Suburbs in the Federal Electorate of La Trobe

Beaconsfield, Belgrave, Berwick, Boronia (part), Cockatoo, Emerald (part), Ferntree Gully (part), Ferny Creek, Gembrook (part), Macclesfield, Mount Dandenong (part), Narre Warren (part), Narre Warren North (part), Narre Warren South (part), Officer, Olinda (part), Pakenham Upper (part), Sassafras, Tecoma and Upwey.

Electorate Map